29 March 2019

Welcome to Team O’Neill

O’Neill welcomes surfer/model Imogen Caldwell to the family. Hailing from a tiny town (as in, population 13, tiny) in Western Australia, Imogen grew up charging big waves with her brothers, diving, fishing, and riding dirt bikes.

“Beyond excited to have joined such a cool collective of people, I feel very privileged to be representing the O'Neill brand and cannot wait for the adventures to come.” – Imogen Caldwell

From a young age, your family moved to a very remote part of NW Australia hundreds of miles from anywhere. How was it growing up there?

I am who I am today because of the childhood my parents gave my siblings and I. Every day was an adventure and I am lucky enough to still call it home, as my parents still manage the campground at The Bluff (A notorious big wave spot in Western Australia)

What about your family, what are their names and what was family life like?

I am one of five, I have an older brother Lockie and an older sister, Ebony. I have two younger brothers Jaspa, and Oska. My parents, Jim and Bek had us quite young and close together so there isn’t much of an age gap between us. We’re a pretty tight-knit family and even though we are all spread out across the state, we come together often.

You are so far away from any kind of social amenities, like shops and cinemas. Did you feel you were missing out on city life?

My parents have been travelling with us since I could remember, 5 kids didn’t stop them from having a Christmas overseas or visiting family on the east coast. We would all get sick of the city life within days and long to be home in the desert.

What did you do for entertainment?

Everything on offer! We learned to surf, fish, dive, work on the sheep station in between homeschooling.

Describe your connection to the sea.

I grew up pretty much on the beach, with the ocean at my front door and the desert at my back. I lived and breathed the ocean every day throughout my younger years, which resulted in my severe distaste for cities and overpopulated places. I travel all year, but at the end of the day, all I want is to be back where the desert meets the sea.

In that part of Australia, the surf is really scary, with dangerous waves, sharp reefs, and sharks. Were you ever scared and how did youover cometo your fears?

When you put it like that it doesn’t sound very alluring, I never saw it that way. It was all we knew and grew to be comfortable with.

How did you get into surfing? Did you surf with your brothers?

Perfect left-handers with only my friends and family out for a majority of the year, how could you not want to be amongst that?

How long have you been surfing?

Roughly 7 years… and counting!

What kind of boards did you ride back then?

Anything I could get my hands on really, I’d steal my brother's boards and wetsuits then he’d find out and try to drown me... but that didn’t stop me. I eventually got my own board from a tourist who snapped his, so I fixed it.

Longboard or shortboard?

Ya kidding? SHORTY!

Are you still surfing big waves - is that something you’re into?

Yes and Yes.

We saw photos of you riding a gnarly wave back in 2014. The nearest doctors must have been miles away if you ever got hurt. Did that ever happen?

I have lots of scars where I should have had stitches but the docs were just too far so I never went, but nothing major. I’ve been pretty lucky so far.

What size were the waves that you used to ride?

I haven’t really had a moment yet where I’ve thought, no I can’t go out if it’s too big. Now I’m with Cortney Brown, who’s definition of a “big wave” is on another level entirely. This winter has me nervous already.

Have you ridden big waves outside of NW Australia? If so where?

The biggest have been in WA, but I’ve surfed pipe pretty solid and most places in Indo.

Top 3 surf breaks?

Red Bluff Quobba Station, Greenbush Mentawai… and I'm sure Fiji will make the list this year!

Was there ever a time when you thought about going on the women’s world tour?

I did state comps when I was Under18, but I got over it pretty quickly and then gained sponsors who didn’t push me to compete.. so I didn’t.

Since you left NW Australia, you’ve traveled the world. Where’s been your favorite place you visited and what did you like about it?

It’s hard to pick a favorite! I love every place for different reasons. I just got back from Whistler, Canada and that really topped the charts.

How did you go from living in the middle of nowhere to being a mega surf industry star and model? Did it feel weird when you left Gnarlaroo and first started modeling? As it’s such a different way of life?

A “mega surf industry star and model” ha ha?? Not really, I started traveling at such a young age I was familiar with how it all works. The modeling industry is still surprising me though, that’s a different ball game altogether and definitely, one that takes some getting used to.

How do you stay fit andtoned.How often do you workout, is it something you enjoy?

I’m always busy, outside doing things I love which in turn keeps me fit. I’ve started doing a couple of days a week with a PT, but I’m not a gym person.

You skate, you surf, you snowboard - would you describe yourself as a bit of a tomboy?

Ha Ha, sure. I am just competitive and don’t like being able to do things, I love a challenge. (I don’t skate very well, I’m not afraid to admit that).

What music are listening to right now?Alabama Shakes.

Who is your fashion muse?My Mumma.

Who inspires you and why?My family, each one has different qualities that I aspire to and admire.

Who do you look up to? Do you have a mentor in the surfing community?

My fiancé, Cort is probably my biggest mentor. He pushes me to go bigger and to never back down.

Where did you meet your man Cortney? From your social media it looks like you two have a really fun life, how would your perfect day go?

We met at The Bluff, he’d visit often for the bigger swells and then eventually he started coming when there were no waves. There’s not much we do apart, he’s my best mate and I couldn’t imagine where I would be today without him. We are always adventuring, when he isn’t Crayfishing we spend most days surfing or hunting the coastline on our motorbikes

Where do you call home these days?

Kalbarri, 6hrs South of Red Bluff. I live with my fiancé, Cortney Brown and our two Siberian Huskies Casper and Ghost.

What are your plans for the future? Where do you see yourself 10 years from now?

In 10 years!! Maybe with a small tribe of mini Imo’s. But for the nearer future, I have some big goals I’d like to kick in and out of the water.

Best advice you've ever received?

The fear of not doing something is worse than the fear of actually doing it… Or at least that's what I tell myself

What’s your favorite motto to live by?

You can.


Related Articles

PLUS 27 - Jordy Smith
PLUS 27 - Jordy Smith
12, July, 2024
Back to the Jungle
Back to the Jungle
24, May, 2024
12, May, 2024

My Cart

  • - { property.value } View Attached
  • American Express
  • Apple Pay
  • Master
  • PayPal
  • Visa
  • Afterpay